Vidwan Bangalore S.Shankar

bangalore-s-shankar

Vidwan Bangalore S. Shankar conveyed his sentiments via email:

It is indeed a happy occasion to remember Sri T.B.Narasimhachar – affectionately referred to as Sri TBN – on his birth centenary in 2015, and I do so with a sense of gratitude.
My first memories of Sri TBN go back to the time when he was a committee member of the Malleshwaram Sangeetha Sabha.
As a boy of eight, I would attend several of the Carnatic music concerts held at the Sri Rama Mandira hall in Malleswaram conducted by the Sabha, for which Sri TBN worked in various capacities.

In 1961 I had the fortune of winning the first prize in the music competition conducted by the Sabha and I still cherish the moment when the legendary Sri Ariyakuddi Ramanuja Iyengar gave me a silver cup as prize. I remember having sung the saint composer Thyagaraja’s “Ammaravamma” in Kalyani before the Maha Vidwan. Since then, I grew as a concert musician under the watchful eye of Sri TBN, who obtained opportunities for me to perform in the Malleshwaram Sangeetha Sabha and elsewhere.
Sri TBN was my father’s colleague in the Accountant General’s office and coincidentally, I joined the same office in October 1972 whereas Sri TBN retired in 1973. He wrote many encouraging reviews of my concerts and I still remember the day he wrote my profile for the evening herald with my photograph, after which several concert opportunities ensued.
Sri TBN had a plethora of interesting anecdotes relating to many stalwarts of music with whom he was closely connected. A few months before his demise, he entrusted me with his extensive collection of invaluable music books, which have been a source of reference even today.
I am really fortunate to have been blessed by Sri TBN, whose most helpful reviews and suggestions have gone a long way in making me the musician I am today.

www.sshankar.com

Categories: Musicians Remember, Vid Bangalore S.Shankar | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.